Home / Artists / JMD
Music Style:  Hard, melodic trance       First Toucan Track:  New Beginning (2003)      Real Names:  John      

Producing melodic trance with a harder edge, the trademarks of the JMD sound are heavily phased synth pads and stabs, rippling arpeggios and gated synths. After producing different styles under other names, John produced his first JMD track New Beginning in 2003. In 2004, John produced his first JMD remixes, with Time On Your Hands by Redmann, House Trancefusion by Risey both getting the JMD treatment. From 2005 onwards, JMD developed his sound and moved away from commercial dance to purer synth-driven trance, as in JMD’s remake of Thirty One and original track Black Magic.

From 2008, influenced by producers such as Armin Van Buuren, Above and Beyond, Marcel Woods and Tiesto, the JMD sound slowed slightly, and introduced a heavier bass-driven feel to complement the melodic uplifting synth leads, as in Polar. This style continued with tracks such as Jetstream and JMD’s 2010 remix of On Target.

In 2011, John decided to retire the JMD name to focus on other projects. The last JMD outing was the 2011 remix of Redmann’s Force Of Nature, which was followed in 2012 by the release of Remix and Additional Production By JMD, a remastered compilation of 18 of JMD’s favourite remixes.

JMD returned with occasional remixes including a rework of Marc Burt's Elements in 2016, but it was 2022 before the first new JMD production, Otherworld, a collaboration with Base II featuring an old-school techno influence. JMD cemented his comeback with his trademark hard melodic trance sound with 2023's Engage.

Singles by JMD

Albums by JMD

EP Releases by JMD

Remixes by JMD

JMD mixes also feature on these releases: